Higher Education Institutions in Belgium

Higher education in Belgium is managed and controlled by the country’s two main language communities:
  • The Flemish Community
  • The French Community
German-speaking students attend a Belgian university in the French or Flemish Community, or go to study in Germany. 

Flemish Community Higher Education

Higher education in the Flemish Community is provided by Universities and University colleges. 

Universities: Universities in Belgium academic-oriented programmes.  Bachelor’s, Master programme, advanced Master programme and a PhD programme are offered at the Flemish community Universities in Belgium.

University Colleges: These institutions provide professional-oriented programmes. However, these institutions can also provide programmes with an academic orientation by getting into an ‘Association' with a university. The University Colleges in Belgium also provide vocational professional Bachelor programmes and advanced Bachelor programmes that focus on a particular professional area. 

Registered Institutes of Higher Education: These are accredited institutions that offer courses on specialist degree subjects.

French Community Higher Education

Higher Education in Flemish Community is provided by the following:

Universities: The Flemish Universities provide education in the selected area of study. It offers general education and training and lays down the foundation for scientific research. The Universities are acknowledged and funded by Federation Wallonia-Brussels, and include all areas of study, such as politics, languages and literature, economics and management, history, engineering, architecture, information and communication, medical sciences, psychology, and so on. The programs offered by the universities are organized into three levels of study:
  •  Undergraduate courses: lasts for 3 years and leads to bachelor degree
  •  Graduate studies: leads to a Master’s degree 
  • Postgraduate studies: After successful completion of it along with the submission and defence of a doctoral thesis, an academic title of “doctor” is given. 
University Colleges (hautes ecoles): The Universities Colleges are non-University higher education institutions in Belgium that provide professional studies to students. These institutions provide short-term as well as long-term undergraduate courses in 8 fields of studies-
  • Applied arts
  • Education
  • Economics
  • Social
  • Paramedical
  • Agronomics
  • Technology;
  • Translation and Interpretation
The Undergraduate courses lead to a Bachelor degree and correspond to 180 credits.  These institutions also provide graduate long-term scientific and technological programmes/courses and leads to a Master’s degree. The Master’s degree programme comprises of a specialisation in the chosen domain.

Art Academies:  The art academies of Belgium provide theoretical as well as practical education in the following artistic disciplines-  
  • Fine, visual and spatial arts
  • Music and Dance
  • Dramatic art and art of oratory
  • Performing arts and broadcasting and communication
These institutions provide short-term course and a combined undergraduate and graduate long-term course. After completion of the undergraduate short-term courses, a bachelor’s degree is awarded. The combined undergraduate and graduate long-term course provides a bachelor degree (180 ECTS credits) and master’s degree (60 or 120 ECTS credits) respectively. 
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

Know More »

  • No Press Releases to display

Know More »

Belgium Select a Country

Our Network :